Girls’s T20 WC: Unbeaten India finish group stage with win over SL – cricket


The Indian eves continued their stellar kind within the ongoing Girls’s T20 World Cup as they registered a seven-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in what was their ultimate group recreation on the Junction Oval on Saturday.

Radha Yadav and Shafali Verma had been the star performers for India, who completed the group stage on the high of the desk with eight factors from 4 video games.

Having already certified for the semi-finals, the Indian eves first restricted Sri Lanka to a under par 113/9 with left-arm spinner Radha scalping 4 wickets in her 4 overs, gifting away simply 23 runs.

Spin companion Rajeshwari Gayakwad returned with figures of two/18 whereas Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma and Shikha Pandey all scalped one wicket every.

For Sri Lanka, skipper Chamari Athapaththu was the lone batswoman who might make some important contribution of 33. Aside from her, Kavisha Dilhari made 25* down the order and helped Sri Lanka cross the 100-run mark.

Throughout their chase, it was as soon as once more 16-year-old Shafali who starred with the bat. She together with Smriti Mandhana, shared a 34-run opening stand earlier than the left-handed opener was dismissed for 17.

Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, who has been struggling for kind, promoted herself to No. 3. Nonetheless, that didn’t make a lot of a distinction as she might rating solely 15 runs earlier than getting out.

Shafali, nevertheless, continued from the opposite finish and saved on scoring boundaries and appeared all set to smash her first half-century of the continued match. However, she fell simply three runs brief as she acquired run-out and missed out on a well-deserved fifty.

Deepti then accomplished the formalities alongwith Jemimah Rodrigues because the duo helped India chase down the goal with as many as 32 balls to spare. Radha was adjudged the Participant of the Match.

India will now take the sector once they play within the first semi-final of the match on March 5 in Sydney.

Temporary Scores: Sri Lanka 113/9 (Chamari Athapaththu 33; Radha Yadav 4/23) India 116/3 (Shafali Verma 47; Udeshika Prabodhani 1/13).