Ranji Trophy semi-final: Vasavada’s ton places Saurashtra in command towards Gujarat – cricket


Arpit Vasavada’s gritty 139 propelled Saurashtra to set a difficult 327-run goal for Gujarat on the fourth day of their Ranji Trophy semi-final right here on Tuesday. Chintan Gaja’ fiery spell had introduced Gujarat again into competition on the third day, however Vasavada’s seventh first-class hundred, and the third this season, swung the momentum in favour of the hosts. Courtesy his ton and useful contributions from Chetan Sakariya (45), Chirag Jani (51) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (21), Saurashtra recovered from a dismal 15 for 5 to submit 274 of their second innings. That they had a 52-run lead and therefore the goal set was 327.

When stumps have been drawn, Gujarat have been seven for one with opener Priyank Panchal (0) again within the hut.

ALSO READ: 13-year wait ends as Bengal storm into first Ranji Trophy ultimate since 2006-07

Earlier, resuming the day at 66 for 5, Sakariya and Vasavada have been going robust earlier than their 90-run sixth wicket stand was damaged by a horrible mix-up between the 2, which resulted within the former’s dismissal.

The hosts misplaced their sixth wicket on 105. Jani then joined Vasavada and performed the proper second-fiddle because the hosts took lunch at 155 for six. Saurashtra’s total lead had by then handed the 200-run mark.

Put up lunch, Vasavada and Jani saved irritating the Gujarat bowlers. It was Gaja once more, who supplied the essential break-through for the guests by dismissing Jani within the 84th over.

The brand new ball did the trick for Gaja, as he bowled within the good size space and Jani’s outdoors edge flew to Samit Gohel within the second slip. Vasavasa and Jani added 109 runs for the seventh wicket.

ALSO READ: Wriddhiman Saha enhance for Bengal in Ranji ultimate

Gaja took his seventh wicket when he eliminated Prerak Mankad (1) on the stroke of tea, which Saurashtra took at 222-8.

After Jadeja fell, Vasavada upped the ante however perished within the course of. In his 139-run innings, he blasted 16 fours and a six.

Contemplating that it’s a worn-out pitch, it will be a troublesome ask for Parthiv Patel-led aspect to chase the goal on the ultimate day.

The winner of this sport will conflict with Bengal, who made to the summit conflict after defeating Karnataka.

Transient Scores: Saurashtra 304 and 274 (Arpit Vasavada 139, Chirag Jani 51; Chintan Gaja 7/71) v/s Gujarat 252 and seven/1. Gujarat want 320 runs to win.