Rishabh Pant returns to India T20I squad for England collection; Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan earn call-ups


Bhuvneshwar Kumar has made his comeback following an extended damage layoff.

Thangarasu Natarajan
Group India. (Photograph by Mark Kolbe/Getty Photos)

The BCCI has introduced India’s squad for the upcoming five-match T20I collection in opposition to England. The collection is scheduled to start on March 12 with all of the 5 matches set to be performed on the renovated Motera Stadium. The identical venue will play hosts to the third and fourth Take a look at between the 2 groups.

So far as the squad is anxious, Rishabh Pant makes a shocking comeback following his wonderful efficiency on Australia tour and in opposition to England at dwelling in Checks. Sanju Samson makes method for him after being a part of the three T20Is down below. In the meantime, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has additionally made his comeback after proving his health following an damage he sustained through the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Jasprit Bumrah has been deservedly rested following a busy Australia tour and the England collection in whites. Notable inclusions within the squad are maiden call-ups to Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia. The trio had an distinctive IPL 2020 season. Furthermore, the Jharkhand skipper, Kishan, smashed 173 off simply 94 balls with 19 fours and 11 huge sixes in opposition to MP of their first match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Saturday (February 20).

Surya, in the meantime, has been a constant performer within the home circuit and within the IPL through the years and deserved the call-up. Fairly his non-inclusion for Australia tour had raised many eyebrows. Rahul Tewatia was essentially the most prolific Indian all-rounder within the IPL final 12 months whereas taking part in for Rajasthan Royals and has been rewarded with a nationwide call-up.

Varun Chakravarthy additionally included within the 19-man squad

The selectors determined to announce an expanded squad, which has been the brand new norm as a result of COVID-19 and Varun Chakravarthy has been recalled to the crew. He was picked for the Australia tour however obtained injured whereas taking part in for KKR and was subsequently dominated out. T Natarajan changed him and ended up making his debut in all of the codecs on the tour. The left-arm pacer has been retained within the squad after being rested for England Checks.

In Ravindra Jadeja’s absence, Axar Patel additionally returns to India’s T20I line-up. He made a shocking Take a look at debut per week in the past choosing up a five-wicket haul in opposition to England in Chennai.

India’s T20I squad for England collection: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep, Shardul Thakur.

Supply hyperlink