IPL 2021: High 10 batsmen with most runs within the Indian Premier League


India is gearing up for the 14th version of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which is scheduled to begin from April 9. Defending champion Mumbai Indians (MI) will tackle Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) within the first recreation.

Forward of IPL 2021, Sportstar takes a take a look at the very best run-scorers within the historical past of the match.

1. Virat Kohli

‘The Run-Machine’ Kohli tops this checklist with a staggering 5,878 runs in 192 matches.

Purchased in 2008 on a youth contract by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kohli didn’t get pleasure from a great first season for the franchise. Over time, he established himself as among the best batsmen on this planet and have become captain in 2013 after Daniel Vettori’s retirement.

He received the Orange Cap on the finish of the 2016 version after scoring 973 runs in 16 matches.

2. Suresh Raina

The proficient batsman finds himself second on this checklist having scored 5,368 runs in 193 matches.

High 10 batsmen with most sixes in IPL

Primarily identified for his exploits with the three-time champion Chennai Tremendous Kings, Raina has many ‘Man-of-the-Match’ performances to his credit score. He was the primary participant in IPL historical past to cross the two,000- and 5000-run mark.

3. David Warner

This Australian power-hitter has scored 5,254 runs in 142 matches.

One of the crucial harmful openers within the fashionable recreation, Warner captained his workforce Sunrisers Hyderabad to its maiden IPL title in 2016. He relished a blistering marketing campaign that season having racked up 848 runs in 17 matches. He holds the document of profitable the Orange Cup essentially the most variety of occasions – thrice.

4. Rohit Sharma

Sharma has a formidable document of 5,230 runs in 200 matches.

He is among the most naturally-gifted batsmen on this planet and his enjoying fashion is tailored for the shorter format.

High 10 wicket-takers in IPL

Sharma boasts of 4 IPL titles because the captain of defending champion Mumbai Indians (MI) and one other as a participant of the now-defunct Deccan Chargers.

5. Shikhar Dhawan

The flamboyant left-handed batsman has 5,197 runs in 176 matches.

An essential participant for the Delhi Capitals, Dhawan grew to become the primary participant in IPL historical past to attain back-to-back centuries in opposition to Chennai Tremendous Kings and Punjab Kings (then generally known as Kings XI Punjab) in October 2020.

He’s additionally the fifth participant to cross the 5000 run-mark after Warner.

6. AB de Villiers

Popularly generally known as ‘Mr. 360’, de Villiers has registered 4,849 runs in 169 matches.

One in every of RCB’s most prolific gamers, he has 5 100+ partnerships and two 200+ stands with captain Kohli. A confirmed match-winner, AB de Villiers additionally places in a great shift behind the wickets.

7. Chris Gayle

The identify is understood to strike concern among the many better of bowlers!

IPL 2021 Quiz — Set 3

Identified for his easy hitting and power-packed performances, Gayle has notched up 4,772 runs in 132 matches. He holds the document of getting scored essentially the most centuries (six) and sixes (349) in IPL historical past.

8. MS Dhoni

‘Thala’ Dhoni, having scored 4,632 runs in 204 matches, has additionally led the Chennai Tremendous Kings to 2 titles.

Although he introduced his retirement from worldwide cricket on August 15, 2020, he will probably be seen donning CSK’s yellow within the 14th version of the IPL once more.

9. Robin Uthappa

Uthappa is understood for his power-packed performances through the years. His capacity to win matches makes him an asset for a lot of groups.

With 4,607 runs in 189 matches, he’s finest identified for his stellar knocks throughout Kolkata Knight Riders’ title-winning runs in 2012 and 2014.

10. Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir has relished a fantastic IPL profession with 4,217 runs off 154 matches.

Regardless of beginning with the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), he’s primarily identified for his stint with KKR, a facet he skippered to 2 titles. He hung up his boots in 2018.