Home Cricket News Chahal, Samson ignored, SKY to steer India in T20I sequence

Chahal, Samson ignored, SKY to steer India in T20I sequence


Suryakumar Yadav will lead India of their five-match T20I sequence in opposition to Australia that begins days after their heart-breaking defeat in opposition to Australia within the 2023 ICC World Cup remaining.

The 2 sides lock horns simply 4 days after the World Cup remaining at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium with the primary of the primary T20Is going down in Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

Surya’s elevation to captaincy within the shortest format.netes following an ankle harm to all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who has has been main India in T20Is after final yr’s T20 World Cup. The Ajit Agarkar-led choice.netmittee nevertheless, ignored senior gamers Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal of their squad for the u.neting sequence.

Associated Articles

Suryakumar Yadav or Ruturaj Gaikwad anticipated to steer India in Australia T20Is after World Cup

World Cup 2023: ‘An opportunity to erase the ache of 2003’, Netizens react to India going through Australia in remaining

Pandya had suffered an ankle harm throughout India’s group match in opposition to Bangladesh in Pune through the recently-concluded World Cup. Not solely did the harm — which was later revealed to be a ligament tear — rule him out of the rest of the World Cup in addition to the Australia T20Is, it has additionally solid a shadow over his participation within the white-ball leg of the u.neting tour of South Africa beginning December.

Surya, who’s India’s designated vice-captain within the shortest format, didn’t have the most effective of runs within the World Cup after changing Pandya within the middle-order. SKY collected simply 106 runs in seven outings at a mean of 17.66, the very best of which was a 47-ball 49 in opposition to England on a tricky wicket in Lucknow, and will solely handle 18 off 28 balls within the remaining in opposition to Australia.

The Mumbai Indians star will hope to make up for his underwhelming run within the World Cup with a sequence of robust performances within the u.neting sequence in opposition to Australia.

Check and ODI skipper Rohit Sharma has not been a part of the T20I setup since main the Males in Blue to the semi-finals of final yr’s T20 World Cup in Australia, and neither are Virat Kohli and Mohammed Shami, who completed on the high of the run-scorers’ and wicket-takers’ listing respectively within the World Cup.

The choice to depart wicketkeeper-batter Samson, who can also be a tried-and-tested opener, and leg-spinner Chahal could have left many a fan and skilled shocked, particularly after they have been ignored for the recently-concluded World Cup.

India, as an alternative determined to select Jitesh Sharma as their designated wicketkeeper-batter, with the likes of Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad set to play as batters.

Kishan was a part of the World Cup however had featured solely within the first two matches in opposition to Australia and Afghanistan as a alternative for Shubman Gill, who had been affected by a bout of dengue. Gaikwad, who led India to Asian Video games gold in Hangzhou, has been named vice-captain for the sequence.

As for the spin division, the selectors have gone with Ravi Bishnoi over Chahal as their wrist spinner alongside finger-spinners  Washington Sundar and Axar Patel, who had initially been named in India’s World Cup squad however was later changed by Ravichandran Ashwin resulting from left quadriceps pressure suffered within the Asia Cup.

The tempo division.netprises left-arm seamer Arshdeep Singh together with right-arm choices Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar. All-rounder Shivam Dube can also be anticipated to share among the seam-bowling duties alongside the frontline choices.

The Aussies, in the meantime, might be led by wicketkeeper-batter Matthew Wade with the squad that includes numerous World Cup-winners together with opener Head, who was adjudged the ‘Participant of the Closing’.

In addition to Head, senior batters David Warner and Steve Smith, all-rounders Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and wicketkeeper-batter Josh Inglis have additionally been retained.

Common Pat Cummins has been rested from the sequence together with fellow pacers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

The sequence will mark the start of preparations for subsequent yr’s T20 World Cup, which can happen proper after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League and might be collectively hosted by the West Indies and USA.

India squad for Australia T20Is: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version